Day 787: Trip to Dallas

Rachel, Day by Day

Day 787: Trip to Dallas

A beautiful view of Dallas!

Back in May, I went on a work trip to Dallas! It was a fun and educational time. This photo above is the view from my hotel (the Dallas Omni). It was a beautiful hotel and was actually a green one. Basically my room didn’t have power until I put the key in a slot near the door. It was neat! There was even a TV in the mirror in the bathroom. Fancy!

Throughout the week I met some really nice members of STLE and it was great getting to know the people I worked with on the magazine. I also worked at the Information Booth, went to lots of meetings, and attended some important dinners. I even sat in on the Basic Lubrication Course.

One night I was able to walk to the Book Depository with a few editors (where John F. Kennedy was shot). I’ve been there before, but it was still sad, yet interesting. I’m not sure if I’m a fan of the cross on the road where he was shot, but oh well.

Day 787: Trip to Dallas

The Dallas Book Depository.

The main floor of the Annual Meeting.

The main floor of the Annual Meeting.

One evening, I was able to go to an event at Southfork Ranch! That’s where they filmed the show Dallas. We got a tour of the grounds, ate a nice dinner, and played some games. I even got on a fake horse and roped a fake cow! I never thought I’d do that in my life. It was a fun night.

The house from the show Dallas!

The house from the show Dallas!

It was a good time and was a nice little getaway! Next year’s Annual Meeting will be in Las Vegas… I’m looking forward to that!

Leave a Reply

